Suitable for Vegans and Vegetarians
November 12, 2015

Odd Wine Out

These 3 wines are together on the shelf of most Co-op stores; however one of them is different to the others – can you guess which one?

Odd wine out - Which is the Vegan W

It may not be obvious, but the difference is that the Finca Las Moras Argentina Pinot Grigio is a vegan wine.

The Co-Vegan Wine Labelop stocks a large range of vegan wines and the only way to spot this is the ‘suitable for vegans’ label on the back.

Most people won’t know the difference but to a vegan customer, checking labels is a key part of food shopping. Veganism is a ‘way of living which seeks to exclude, as far as is possible and practicable, all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing and any other purpose’.

Yet what makes wine vegan?

Its part of the final process, where the wine goes through ‘fining’ to clear any impurities and produce a crisper colour and flavour. Some fining agents are made with gelatine (collagen from animal skin, bones and fish bladder) whilst others use egg whites but our two vegan wines use Bentonite, a form of clay to clear the impurities. Some producers leave the wine for longer to settle any sediment naturally. Victoria Moore from The Telegraph visited a winery in Rioja, Spain and explains this in more detail in this article:

Overall, The Co-op stocks over 130 vegan wines, beers and spirits and is the majority of the vegan products available. So why not enjoy a glass along with a bowl of our vegan friendly TI Sweet Chilli crisps.

Vegan wine and crisp combination

Join the conversation! 8 Comments

  1. Hi thanks for posting thiis

  2. Hi Louis. Thanks for the suggestion – I’ll let our labelling team know. ^Ian

  3. Labelling vegan and vegetarian wines in Co-op is excellent, but please add this information to the shelf labelling as well. I have to spend a lot of time turning bottles around on the selves to read the rear information in order to browse for the vegan wines, and your staff may get fed up when I sometimes forget to turn them back.

    • Hi Louis, we have trialled shelf edge labelling with Vegetarian/Vegan information for wines, but the problem was that on rare occasions, the Vegetarian/Vegan status of the wine can change and although correctly labelled on the bottle, the shelf edge label did not always match, causing confusion and complaints. The good news is, however, we have started to put the ‘V’ logo and the Vegetarian/Vegan status on the front label of Co-op branded wines, to make it easier than ever for our customers and members to select Vegetarian/Vegan wines. We are currently in a transition period, but over the next few months, you should see the majority of Co-op wines labelled in this way. ^Jordan

  4. […] Wine is now getting onto the vegan bandwagon and according to The Guardian the Co-op in the UK will be expanding its range of vegan wines to 100 by the end of the year. Read more here. Co-op in the UK (and Switzerland!) has a clear vegan/vegetarian labelling policy which certainly makes it a great place to shop at. Co-op already claimed to stock a total of 130 vegetarian beers, wines and spirits as of end 2015… read about it’s Odd Wine Out, here. […]

  5. I agree! It sis normally very easy to spot vege. items with Co-Op brands not spend hours looking thru the small print on the labels

  6. Co-op’s labelling of ingredients and suitability for vegetarians and vegans is excellent and a reason why I choose these products over other stores.


Leave a Reply